10 Best Books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid

If you want satirical and realistic comedy books for your teenage and small kids then books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid would be a great choice for you. It is an entire series containing 23 books by Jeff Kinney written especially for kids and teenage audience only.

10 Best Books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid

I think that there should be more alternative books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid made for kids as most of the books targeting kids belongs to fantasy and fiction genre and not comedy. So, here are a bunch of books which perfectly belongs to the same criteria and I am sure it will make a perfect choice for your kids and teens.

1. Smile by Raina Telgemeier

Smile

What else can be more positive than Smile in the category of books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid for the children? This is a book from 2010 and it is an autobiography of the author herself. The book is written in form of graphic novel which makes it even more interesting and loved for the kids.

Smile is based on the webcomic of the same name by Raina herself. Being an extremely realistic and great novel for the kids, it even won Eisner Award too.

The book gives account of author’s life from the time of her being in sixth grade to high school. The author is living a happy life until one day when she falls and injures her front two teeth. Now start her journey of being bullied to friends turning foe for her which goes on until her high school.

The book is so inspiring and can be related to so many kids wearing braces and teased by the seniors in school. It is interesting, realistic and that’s why kids find it quite relatable.

2. Danny the Champion of the World by Roald Dahl and Quentin Blake

Danny-the-Champion-of-the-World

Danny the Champion of the World is amongst the most popular Books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid on Amazon. Although the book belongs to back in 1975 but still gives fresh vibes which is comprised of the essence of childhood and teenage phase of a person’ life.

The main character of this book remains to be Danny who is a young English boy and he lives with his father William in a Gypsy Caravan.

When Danny was just four months old, his mother died and his father operates a garage now. One day when William gets injured and breaks his ankle, they realize the annual party of poaching pheasants is approaching and then starts the journey of Danny and William bonding.

With their clever plans and togetherness, at the end of the story, William declares Danny as the champion of the world. An extremely engrossing story of 224 pages, this one is surely one of the best books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

3. Diary of a 6th Grade Ninja by Marcus Emerson and Sal Hunter

Diary-of-a-6th-Grade-Ninja

Diary of a 6th Grade Ninja is the first book from the book series of the same name. Released in Jan, 2017, the book is comprise of 112 pages and the short and sweet tales keeps the kids excited like hell in it. I really loved the fact that they kept it short which makes the kids love it even more.

It makes the perfect pick in the category of books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid and comes in the category of Juvenile Fiction.

This is a great funny thriller whose prime character is Chase Cooper and it starts from his first day in a different school. Chase is in 6th grade and knows no one in the school except his cousin Zoe. His life changes as he says when he gets recruited by a group of ninjas and then his adventure starts.

It is written in a warning mode and tells the struggles and dangers it involves to be a ninja. A greatly entertaining story for not only kids but adults too, the books is going to keep you hooked till the end.

4. The Last Kids on Earth by Max Brallier

The-Last-Kids-on-Earth

There are so many alternative books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid and one of them is The Last Kids on Earth which is the next pick in this list too. It was published in 2015 and comprise of 240 pages of awesome adventure and even has a sequel too.

Basically a funny as well as thrilling story, The Last Kids on Earth can be called the combination of Diary of a Wimpy Kid and The Walking Dead coming together but surely in an extremely fun way.

The plot is set after the phase when a monster apocalypse hits a town and a kid Jack Sullivan is living in a tree house ever since. He has got everything from food supply to endless video games but now he wants a team who can fight against zombies, winged wretches and other monsters.

And now starts the adventure of Jack and his friends Quint, Dirk, Rover and June. The book has everything which makes it a perfect pick under the category of books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

5. Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing by Judy Blume

Tales-of-a-Fourth-Grade-Nothing

Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing is a children’s novel which suits perfectly in the category of books like Diary of a wimpy Kid. Published back in 1972, this makes it one of the oldest in the list too. Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing is the first novel in the Fudge Series and this novel is also known as Sheila the Great.

The main character of this story is Peter Warren Hatcher and the book puts some light on the relationship he shares with his two and a half years old brother Farley Drexel “Fudge” Hatcher.

Peter is in 4h grade and he always seems annoyed with his brother who because of being so small always go unpunished. There are so many chapters in the book which completes 120 pages each one describing new tactics and tantrums of Fudge to irritate Peter.

With so many funny stories and the relatable elder and younger brother’s fights, kids would love it for sure.

6. Big Nate and Friends by Lincoln Pierce

Big-Nate-and-Friends

Books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid on Amazon are the kids’ favorites and to join the bandwagon the next is Big Nate and Friends which was published in 2011 comprising of 224 pages. This is a type of graphic novel and Lincoln Pierce being a cartoonist has put his creativity at his best in it.

So the main character of this book is Nate Wright who is just like any sixth grader but hilariously mischievous and always landing in one trouble from another.

The book is comprised of the crazy adventures and incidents of Nate’s life where he is always accompanied by his friends and best pals, Francis and Teddy. They are later joined by Artur who is a popular exchange program student and Gina who is teacher’s favorite.

You can see the entire stories being portrayed in form of cartoons and texts. It is hilariously funny novel comprising of crazy incidents like Nate’s love life, trash talking and many more. A fun substitute if you are looking for amazing books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

7. The Terrible Two by Mac Barnette and Jory John

The-Terrible-Two

Published in 2015, The Terrible Two is the creation of bestselling authors Mac and Jory. This is the first book from the book series of the same name which is based on the classic literature theme but leaves no stone unturned to entertain the readers.

There are so many books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid but The Terrible Two contains every such genre which deserves to be in this list.

So, the main character of this book is Miles Murphy whose family is moving to Yawnee Valley, a sleepy town which is famous for only cows. Well, Miles was known as the best prankster in his old school but in this town there is already one. Now, the game starts of the rivalry between Pranksters to attain the peak position.

Hilarious as hell and of course having every element of crazy in it, The Terrible Two is a wonderfully entertaining book.

8. There’s a Boy in the Girl’s Bathroom by Louis Sachar

There-s-A-Boy-in-the-Girls-Bathroom

In the list of alternative books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid, the next one is There’s a Boy in the Girl’s Bathroom. Sounds weird yet a great juvenile fiction novel by Louis Sachar which got published in 1987. Following kind of a similar plot to Wimpy Kid, the book is a true entertainer.

It is centered on the story of a school bully named Bradley Chalkers who is in fifth grade and also the protagonist of the book too.

Bradley is the oldest in fifth grade because of repeating and a very bad student because of which everyone hates him. But, he begins to improve strangely when he meets a students’ counselor named Carla. The name of the book is based on the subplot story where a student Jeff accidently enters a girl’s bathroom.

The book is funny, relatable and teaches a lot of stuff to the kids. An excellent recommendation from my side and a perfect option to your hunt for books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

9. Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made by Stephen Pastis

Timmy-Failure-Mistakes-Were-Made

Timmy Failure is a series of comedy novels and the first one amongst them is Mistakes Were Made which is the next pick in the list of books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid. It was published in 2013 and every single page in the compilation of 294 pages is a true gem.

The story is focused around eleven years old Timmy Failure who is a clueless yet strangely self-confident and calls him the CEO of best detective agency.

In this business, he is accompanied by his extremely lazy partner who happens to be a very large polar bear named Total and hence their company becomes Total Failure Inc. There are crazier and totally funny characters in the story who becomes part of this company too.

As a whole, the book is so hilarious that you would be totally laughing after every single line of it.

10. I Funny: A Middle School Story by James Patterson and Chris Grabenstein

I-Funny-A-Middle-School-Story

And the last option if you are still searching for Books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid on Amazon then you can check out this amazing novel I Funny. It was published in 2012 and comprised of 350 pages. This is a realistic fiction and it is followed by four more books in this series.

The book belongs to the genre of mystery and of course to not scare the kids off there are so many comic elements in the book too.

This is centered around Jamie Grimm who is an extremely funny guy. Jamie is left paralyzed from the legs after an accident which killed his family and he moved to Long Island. Starting from a sad background, the rest of the story is happy where Jamie went on to win so many rounds of a comedy competition.

I really loved this book a lot and it should be definitely read to kids and surely a deserving entry in the list of books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid too.

Books that you must read:

Conclusion

The great things about literature is that it gives wings and lets you travel to a different world without even having to move from your couch. These books like Diary of a Wimpy Kid belongs to the same type of criteria and I think they must be read by every kids to develop their imagination capabilities.

You can easily decide to hit the next book after getting done with the current series. They are fun, they are realistic and most importantly they will definitely teach your kids a thing or two. Trust me, they are gonna love them all.