Top 10 Books like Ready Player One

Ready Player One is the debut novel of Ernest Cline based on science fiction theme. If you want to discover more books like Ready Player One then I can help you out in it. There are readers who are more interested in science and technology rather than dark fantasy novels so this section is just for them.

Top 10 Books like Ready Player One

The list given below is comprised of the various alternative books Ready Player One which means they also belongs to the futuristic science world. You can get them through Amazon but do not get involved in them too much because they can sure manipulate the version of reality for you.

1). The Martian by Andy Weir

You might have seen this movie which was released in 2015 but to read the original book is totally something else. The 369 pages of this book is written with so much of amazement and excitement of discovering something new and rare that you can actually feel the zeal of Andy Weir totally in it.

The Martian is a great choice in the list of books like Ready Player One which was published in 2011 and it is the story of an American Astronaut Mark Watney who left stranded on Mars alone.

The plot of The Martian is set in the year 2035 where Nasa Ares 3 crew heads to the Mars for a mission. Despite being on a month mission, they had to leave in six days because of extreme stormy conditions and in this hurry they leave Mark Watney, a botanist and engineer there believing that he is dead.

And now, Mark has to be on his own to survive in the climate conditions of Mars. The book not only received various awards but also gained great commercial success too.

2). Armada: A Novel by Ernest Cline

Another science fiction novel of this series of books like Ready Player One is Armada. This is also Ernest Cline’s book after Ready Player One. It seems like he has excelled the art of writing amazing science-based futuristic novels and that too in the row.

You are going to find the plot of Armada quite similar to that Ready Player One as both are based on virtual reality games.

Armada is the story of a teenage boy Zack Lightman who plays an online video game about defending earth from alien attack called Armada. Little did he know that this was actually a simulator to prepare and warn him and another world about an actual alien invasion very soon.

The book was turned out to be New York Times Best Seller and managed to secure this place for 5 weeks. This 368 pages book was loved by critics and it is also one of the most amazing Ready Player One alternative books. A movie based on this book is soon to get started with production.

3). Red Rising by Pierce Brown

Red Rising is also a science fiction novel which perfectly complements the category of books like Ready Player One. This is the first book and also the eponym of the trilogy. This novel is set on the futuristic world of Mars. The novel soon going to be adapted into a film too.

The plot of Red Rising is seven hundred years forward from now where the people of Earth has colonized themselves on Mars.

Out there, they have distinguished people on the basis of the classes where the Gold ones are the superior and Red ones are inferior. Now, it follows the story of a guy named Darrow who is Red who loses his wife in the hatred of Gold class.

He then forms a group with another rebelled Reds and then the story of the rising of Reds starts. This is such a story which has every single element to entertain the readers throughout and you do not lose the excitement even till the end of the novel.

4). The Quantum Thief by Hannu Rajaniemi

The Quantum Thief is the first book from the trilogy by Hannu Rajaniemi. It was published on different years in UK and US and has two sequels too. This novel is set in the futuristic world where there is a completely new solar system.

This novel not only did amazing commercially but also got critically acclaimed which helped it to win Locus Award for Best First Novel and runner-up for Campbell Memorial Award.

So, the reason of it being marked as the books like Ready Player One is because of its science fiction theme. It focuses on the thief Jean le Flambeur who is locked in the Dilemma prison. One day a warrior set him free on this condition that he needs to return to his old criminal world and steal something precious for him.

Everything mentioned in this book is set in a virtual world which belongs to future. If you want more such Ready Player One alternative on Amazon then there are plenty of options available for you that too on very minimal prices.

5). Neuromancer by William Gibson

I am here with another science fiction novel named Neuromancer which was published in the year 1984. The novel is one of the oldest in this list of books like Ready Player One but still is way ahead of its time. You are going to discover more about it when you will go through its description.

Neuromancer is known as one of the finest work by any author. In fact, this is the only book which one Nebula Award, Philip K. Dick Award and the Hugo Award altogether.

The plot of this novel is set in dystopian underworld of Chiba city in Japan. This is about the story of a hacker Henry Dorsett Case who once caught stealing from his boss and as a punishment, he was left with such condition where he cannot access virtual cyber world of Matrix.

But, one day he got hired by an unknown person who wants to pull him the biggest hack of his life. This is where the actual story begins which is full of suspense and amazing hacking technology.

6). Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson

Snow Crash holds a special place in this list of books like Ready Player One and the reason is that it is an exceptional work by Neal Stephenson. Whereas, the other novels of this author are mainly related to religion, history, memetics, philosophy etc. Snow Crash is one science fiction novel by him.

It was published in the year 1992 and you are going to see the influence of the book The Origin of Consciousness in the Breakdown of the Bicameral Mind by Julian Jaynes on it.

This is a great pick under the category of alternative books like Ready Player One and its story is based on Los Angeles of 21st Century who is no longer the part of US. The protagonist of this story is Hiro who is a hacker and Pizza Delivery driver for Mafia.

The life of Hiro changes when someone offers him a data file named Snow Crash which damages Hiro’s friend’s mind in real world and his computer crashes too. This is the story of how Hiro fights through this virus and finds the way to kill it.

7). Otherland: City of Golden Shadow by Tad Williams

City of Golden Shadow is the first book from the popular book series of Otherland which is entirely based on the theme of science fiction. The book was published in the year 1996 and this is a really lengthy book containing about 960 pages.

This book fits well in the category of books like Ready Player One because of the futuristic approach and science theme.

This book tells the story which is about a virtual network created by the richest people together. This network is known as The Grail Brotherhood. This network is created by some influential people which can be dangerous too.

Now, the story is about the ordinary people who enter this network and try to stop it. This is set in the futuristic 21st century where the technological advancements has changed a lot of things. To get through the story you would have to keep some patience at in the start it proceeds very slowly. However, things get really interesting and unusual once you keep on progressing with it.

8). Daemon by Daniel Suarez

Website – Link

Daemon is the part of two section book series which is followed by the book Freedom both written by Daniel Suarez. It was first published in the year 2006 and based on a computer application namely The Daemon. This book has the theme of computer and virtual world and hence it got listed in the category of books like Ready Player One.

Daemon is a type of techno-thriller book where a computer application starts to change the world after its original programmer’s death.

This book raises serious questions on humanity and the real world slowly getting ruled by The Daemon. This computer application’s first mission is to kill those programmers who helped in making of it so that it could not be turned off at any cost.

There are so many Ready Player One alternative books which are available on Amazon and other platforms but I personally found this book to be super impressive in this list.

9). Altered Carbon (Takeshi Kovacs) by Richard K. Morgan

Website – Link

The name of this book gives quite a reference to so many thoughts about it being related to some science fiction and virtual world. This book Altered Carbon belongs to the category of cyberpunk science fiction novels and was published in the year 2002.

Altered Carbon got so popular that finally Netflix announced its TV adaptation in the form of 10 episodes in the year 2016.

So, Altered Carbon is based on the story of a dystopian world where it is possible to store human personalities and then download them into new bodies which are called Sleeves. The people who rejected this idea were starting to be murdered and this is where the story takes a new turn.

Altered Carbon is one wonderful pick in the category of books like Ready Player One and has so many amazing twists and turns in it. The book also won Philip K. Dick Award for best novel.

10). Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

Website – Link

There are various Ready Player One alternative on Amazon and the last option for this in our list is Fahrenheit 451 which is a dystopian novel by Ray Bradbury. It was published in the year 1953 which makes it the oldest one in this list.

Depite being almost half a century old, this novel puts up such a story which is so hard to believe was written this much time ago.

This book is set in such a world of Future American Society where books are completely outlawed and if anyone is found then it is immediately burned by Fireman. In fact, the title of this book is in reference with the temperature where books start to catch fire.

You can call this book to be a satire on the fact that how mass media has overpowered the literature and now people are not interested in it. This is one of the most award-winning book which I mentioned in the list of books like Ready Player One. This is only a 158 pages book which must be read at least once.

You may like below-given books like posts:

Conclusion

Books have the tremendous power which can transport you to a world you always wanted to visit just by your thoughts and imagination. These books like Ready Player One make the perfect example of the potential and power of such books.

The idea that science can take over the world and can create something which is too hard to believe can be explored through these books mentioned above. Get your cup of strong coffee and visit an impossible world through these gems of literature.