10 Books like Lord of The Rings

Lord of the Rings is not just a book series but a marvelous literature creation by J.R.R. Tolkien. There are more books like Lord of the Rings which you would surely like to read if fantasy and adventure is your forte. I strongly believe that books channeling fantasy and fiction are really super engrossing.

10 Books like Lord of The Rings

So, talking about the same, I have listed down top books like Lord of the Rings on Amazon right below in this section. I kept in mind to give you a little brief of the story along with the Amazon link so that you can buy it directly. I really look forward to the fact that our readers would surely love to take a look at these little wonders.

1. The Silmarillion by J.R.R. Tolkien

The-Silmarillion

The Silmarillion is quite a different book in the list of books like Lord of the Rings as it is a combination of works by J.R.R. Tolkien which is edited by his son. It was released in the year 1977 and collects some fictional mythological works by the renowned author.

You can call it a spin-off of The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings or may be the plot both the novels are set on. It tells the story about the universe of Eä on which the lands of Middle Earth, Valinor etc. are set.

There are total five parts in this compilation which are Ainulindalë, Valaquenta, Quenta Silmarillion, Akallabêth and the last one is Of the Rings of Power and the Third Age. The final part of this book series leads to the making of Lord of the Rings.

The importance of this novel is just indescribable and the fantasy and fictional worlds are just on point. The novel even won Locus Award for the Best Fantasy Novel too.

2. A Game of Thrones (A song of Ice and Fire, Book 1) by George R.R. Martin

A-Game-of-Thrones

How can someone possibly not know about it yet that A Game of Thrones is not just a book but a different world altogether. It makes a perfect entry in the list of alternative Lord of the Rings books on Amazon and also the first book from the series A Song of Ice and Fire.

Published in 1996, the book changed the way fantasy is depicted entirely. This is a story of struggle of various houses to claim the ultimate throne.

A Game of Thrones talks about three noble houses primarily which are Westeros, the Wall and Targaryens. Now, the plot line is divided into three points of views which are In the Seven Kingdoms, On the Wall and Across the Narrow Sea. Through the entire story, you are going to see the people choosing between an option which leads to serious outcomes.

The book became New York Times Best Seller book pretty soon and won Locus Awards for Best Fantasy Novel too. It is probably a match made in heaven for the category of books like Lord of the Rings.

3. The Companions – The Sundering, Book 1 by R.A. Salvatore

The-Companions-The-Sundering

The Companions is not just another books like Lord of the Rings but actually considered a literature marvel. The book belongs to the year 2013 and talks about the hero of R.A. Salvatore’s book named Drizzt and it is about his adventure in a new era of forgotten realm.

The recurring elements of this novel like other books are adventure, suspense and of course fantasy and, it has earned a position no other book could ever get.

The book not entirely talks about Drizzt but moves in a way that it features three parallel stories together which sets up a great connection to the Hero Drizzt. It talks about the pretext of Lord Ao destroying the Tablets of Fate and hence gods can no longer walk through the mortal realm and hehnce Drizzt is chosen as their champion.

The other important characters in this story are Cattie-Brie, Bruenor, Wulfgar and Regis who are reincarnated again to help Drizzt. Starting slow, the book definitely leads to some adventure and excitement later on.

4. The Eye of the World by Robert Jordan

The-Eye-of-the-World

Another one in the list of alternative books like Lord of the Rings is The Eye of the World which is the first book from the popular book series The Wheel of Time. This is a fantasy novel published in the year 1990 and it is consisted of one prologue and 53 chapters in it.

The protagonists of this book are Rand al’Thor, Perrin Aybara, Matrim  Cauthon, Egwene al’Vere, and Nynaeve al’Meara.

The protagonists home Emond’s Field is attacked to abduct Mat, Rand and Perrin and to save other villagers, they flee away. This sets them out on a journey where they get separated and fight with the upcoming problems and Trollocs.

The book was later divided into two separate books which are From the Two Rivers and To the Blight. The book targets the young adult audience and surely one of the most popular book of the genre too. The adventure and journey to fight the evil will remind you of the essence of Lord of the Rings many times.

5. Wizard’s First Rule – Sword of Truth, Book 1 – by Terry Goodking

Wizards-First-Rule

Wizard’s First Rule is the first book from the high fantasy book series Sword of Truth which was released in the year 1994. Belonging to the genre of epic fantasy the book made a huge profit despite the fact that Terry Goodking was the first time author at that time.

This makes the perfect choice under the category of books like Lord of the Rings. The plot revolves around the protagonist Richard Cypher who is a young woods guide.

Richard lives in one of the three parts of the world called Westland where there is no magic and after several boundaries later lies the kingdom of D’Hara which is the world of Wizards. After the mysterious murder of his father, his life changes forever as suddenly magic gets introduced in his life and he discovers new things around him.

There are so many parts of this book amongst which the story is divided. The novel won the best Fantasy debut award and came out as a strong and amazing epic fantasy novel of all time.

6. Dragonsong – Harper Hall Trilogy, Book 1 by Anne McCaffrey

Dragonsong

Dragonsong is another one in the list of alternative Lord of the Rings books on Amazon and it is the first book from the trilogy Harper Hall. Rather than epic fantasy, the book belongs to the genre of science fiction but of course there are elements of adventure and amazing incidents which keeps the reader high on excitement throughout.

The book got published in 1976 and the story of this novel revolves around the protagonist Menolly who is young girl living in the fictional world of Pern.

The book is related to the series of Dragonriders of Pern and it is set after seven years of first book of Pern Universe. The story counts the adventure of Menolly who runs away from her home and discovers something that changes her life forever.

The book targets the teen audience and surely leaves a great impression of breaking the gender stereotypes. The book has adventure, self-discovery and lots of other elements which makes it a huge hit and surely worth including in the list of books like Lord of the Rings.

7. Eragon by Christopher Paolini

Eragon

Eragon belongs to the book series Inheritance Cycle and it is the first book of this series which got published in the year 2002. It belongs to the genre of young adult fantasy novel which is similar to the rest of the books like Lord of the Rings in this section.

The book is based on the story of a farm boy Eragon and his adventure. One day, he finds a mysterious stone and later on a dragon Saphira hatches from the stone as it was an egg. Because of the evil king Galbatorix looking for the egg, Eragon and Saphira has to flee away from their village.

The story then moves with Eragon and Saphira gathering up a force so that they can fight against the king and set people free from his evilness.

Eragon turned out to be the third best selling children’s novel of all time and even got a feature film based on it too.

8. Dragons of Autumn Twilight (Dragonlance Chronicles, Volume 1) by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman

Dragons-of-Autumn-Twilight

Another one in the list of books like Lord of the Rings on Amazon is Dragons of Autumn Twlight which is the first novel of the book series Dragonlance Chronicels published in the year 1984. The novel is based on the series of Dungeon and Dragons Game Module.

The main theme of this novel is based on the meeting of the companions and the early times of The War of the Lance.

You are going to find various characters of other stories here too which makes it even more interesting. The novel is set on the fantasy world of Krynn which got abandoned by the True Gods. It later talks about the heroism of prime characters Tanis, Sturm, Caramon, Raistlin, Flint and Tasslehoff who later on acquire the place of true gods.

Being an extremely interesting novel the adventure and mission theme resembles to most of the books like Lord of the Rings in this series.

9. A Wizard of Earthsea (The Earthsea Cycle) by Ursula K. Le Guin

A-Wizard-of-Earthsea

The Earthsea Cycle is a top-rated book series and A Wizard of Earthsea is the first book in this series. It was published in 1968 and belongs to the category of books like Lord of the Rings perfectly. This is a Young Adult Fantasy novel whose theme was already set by two short stories.

The plot of this book is set in the fictional archipelago of Earthsea and it follows the protagonist named Ged who is a young magician.

Ged despite being young showed great potential and superb skills and joined School of Wizardry. Being prickly in nature he gets into conflict with fellow students and after his spell goes wrong a shadow creature born which attacks him.

The novel is then followed by Ged’s journey to get freed from this creature and this sets him on an unexpected adventure.

10. The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson

The-Way-of-Kings

The last one to belong our list of alternative books like Lord of the Rings is The Way of Kings by legendary author Brandon Sanderson. This is the first book of the series The Stormlight Archive and got published in the year 2010.

The Way of Kings is an epic fantasy novel which is divided into so many sections like one prelude, one prologue, 75 chapters, and epilogue and 9 interludes in it.

The story is divided between the point of views of so many characters like Kaladin, Shallan Davar, Dalinar Kholin and much more. It first talks about how Szeth is sent to murder the king of one of the most powerful nations. Seems to be normal, he possesses so many hidden qualities and secrets which keeps the suspense high throughout the novel.

The book turned out to be a great commercial success and even won David Gemmell Legend Award too. The books makes a wonderful entry in the list of books like Lord of the Rings.

Most popular blog posts that you may like:

Conclusion

There are like thousands of books available on the subject and theme of fantasy and fiction. Magical creatures, wizards, adventure and a mission to save the world is something which is common between all these books like Lord of the Rings here.

Being a book enthusiast, I would strongly recommend you to read them through original books rather than on Kindle. Keep the essence of the imagination alive by devoting enough time to them and I am sure you would totally be able to think from a different perspective towards life.